The term geomedia captures the fundamental role of media in organizing and giving meaning to processes and activities in space. Geomedia also alludes to the geographical attributes of media, for example flows of digital signals between particular places and the infrastructures carrying those flows. The rapid expansion of mobile media, location-based services, GIS and increasingly complex patterns of surveillance/interveillance has amplified the need for critical studies and theorizations of geomedia.
The Geomedia Research Group was formed in 2013 at the Department of Geography, Media and Communication, Karlstad University. The group consists of media researchers, human geographers and film scholars, whose research revolves around three main areas: (1) Mediatization of space and culture, (2) Spaces of news production and consumption and (3) Tourism and mobility studies. Besides research projects the group organizes, e.g., PhD courses, workshops and the international Geomedia Speaker Series. In March 2016 Karlstad University appointed Geomedia as one of the university’s “Strong” research groups. The goal is to become an internationally renowned actor and arena for research and exchanges within the expanding interdisciplinary area of communication geography.

In May 2015 the Geomedia Research Group hosted the conference Geomedia 2015: Spaces and Mobilities in Mediatized Worlds, which gathered around 100 researchers. In 2017 the conference Spaces of the In-Between gathered just over 100 participants. An edited volume, entitled Geomedia Studies: Spaces and Mobilities in Mediatized Worlds, based on specifically selected conference presentations and papers will be published by Routledge in 2017 (Fast, Jansson, Lindell, Ryan Bengtsson & Tesfahuney, Eds.). The ambition is to establish Geomedia as a regularly occurring international conference, providing a genuinely interdisciplinary arena for research carried out at the crossroads of geography, media and film studies.

Organizing committee:
Lena Grip, Stina Bergman, André Jansson, John Lynch, Raul Ferrer Conill, David Cheruiyot, Linda Ryan Bengtsson, Lotta Braunerhielm.